True Tales: Then & NowBy George T. Comeau
A rich photographic history is preserved at the Canton Historical Society. With well over 4,000 catalogued images, each moment in time helps us see the fabric of the people and places of Canton. Through the lens of time, we take a moment to showcase photographs of then and now.
Photos 1 & 2: Still standing today in Canton Center is Trayer’s Block. In this July 1, 1920 photo, the town of Canton prepares for Independence Day festivities. The building originally housed the Post Office and the Canton Institution for Savings.
Photos 3 & 4: At the corner of Washington and Church streets stood the Mullin’s Garage. In the background is the steeple of the Congregational Church, which was demolished in 1969. Several of these early buildings from the turn of the last century still grace these streets, hidden by modern facades.
Photos 5 & 6: The Springdale Pumping Station on Pine Street was built by Italian craftsmen in 1888 and originally housed steam powered pumps, which were converted to electric-motor-driven centrifugal pumps in the 1920s. At its height of operation, the pumping station delivered more than 100 million gallons of water a year. The building is empty today, and the town has no plans for this landmark building.
See the September 17 edition of the Canton Citizen to view more “then and now” images courtesy of the Canton Historical Society and George T. Comeau. Click here to order your subscription today.
Short URL: http://www.thecantoncitizen.com/?p=30761