Canton Mite A’s win playoff championship


mite a hockey

The Canton Mite A hockey team captured the South Shore Conference playoff championship with a thrilling 4-3 overtime victory over Weymouth.

After a successful season, Canton found itself as the No. 3 seed heading into the playoffs. Along the way, they exhibited some excellent hockey in all facets of the game: defense, offense, and goaltending. Great two-way hockey was needed, and with team spirit peaking, everyone really put in a great amount of effort to come together down the stretch.

In the playoffs, Canton first defeated the Southeast Cyclones 4-1 in a very strong performance. In the next round, Canton knocked off the second-seeded South Coast Panthers with a thrilling 2-1, come-from-behind victory.

Finally, in the championship game against top-seeded Weymouth, Canton built a 2-1 lead while generally controlling the game. Weymouth, however, was able to capitalize on a few chances and took a 3-2 lead with less than five minutes remaining. Canton kept battling and tied the score with just 1:30 left on the clock. In overtime, with play going back and forth, Canton was able to score the winner with 33 seconds remaining. A great job and a great season!

The Canton Mite A’s are Sam Carlino, Jeffrey Chaput, Markus Dennison, Jack Digirolamo, Owen Gunning, Jayden Haggerty, Griffin Hughes, Michael Leonetti, Nathan MacDonald, Olivia Maffeo, Allie McCabe, Tommy Phaneuf, Sammy Poch, Thomas Stapleton, and Andrew Valkanas.

Share This Post

Short URL:

avatar Posted by on Apr 26 2013. Filed under Sports, Youth Sports. Both comments and pings are currently closed.
Canton Citizen Absolute Landscaping

Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright Canton Citizen 2011